20th Year! Mad Mile 2023

Team Kennet hosted their annual Nite of the Mad Miles on longest day of the year in superb conditions celebrating the 20th year of the event.

The event this year saw 5 races and 93 runners taking part.

This years event saw some very impressive times set all round.

Race 1 was the Girls u9s and u11s combined, a strong field off 22 runners saw two athletes break away Ella Larkin u11 and Praiya Foreman u9, over the last lap and half Ella pulled away and took a superb victory in 5.56, she is the first under 11 girl to break the 6 min barrier, next home was Praiya who ran a superb 6.26 to hold on to 2nd place and take u9 medal and both athletes top their own age group top 50 best times over the event. Third place was Quinn Joyce who ran exactly the same time 6.26, in what was a close race saw 4th place Ella Mcdonald 6.26 and Penelope Lyth 6.27 for 5th place.

The under 9 and u11 Boys saw 18 starters  and first home was Samuel Atkins who went out to win straightaway in a solid run he clocked 6.02 to go 2nd in the top 50 leaderboard, 2nd home was Finn Sanderson 6.27 and third placed was Malik Gaye 6.35, the first u9 was Gethin Thomas 6.43.

Race 3 was the under 13 and u15 girls, only 14 starters, and again like the boys race before Isla Clare went straight out to take the win in a fast 5.40.5, 2nd home was Charlotte Bailey 5.55 with emerald Hill Sawyer just behind breaking the 6 min barrier 5.57.

Race 4 saw 20 starters in the under 13 and u15 Boys, Ethan Kuijten went straight out to lead all the way around the 4 laps in 5.10 to record a 2nd place in the top 50 leaderboard, 2nd home was Max Adams 5.27 and third place went to Harry smith 5.35.

Finally Race 5 had all the other age groups from u17 through to vets ladies and Mens, The Mens side saw a great battle with Casey Warwick just getting the better of Jonjo Stiles recording 5.19 and 5.22 with Third place going to Thomas Bailey 5.34, in the ladies section a really fast time from Gemma Jones earned herself the win and also take 2nd place in the top 50 Leaderboard, 2nd place went to Martine Stiles 6.14 and 3rd Kathryn Saunders 6.32

The most Improved award went to Penelope Lyth by knocking of one minute on last years time, very impressive difference.

Race 1
Race 2
Race 3
Race 4
Race 5
Most Improved