Mad Mile report

The Team Kennet Nite of the Mad Miles took place on a very warm evening at the Crookham Common Athletics Track.

Four races were held over the evening, First race was the under 9 and under 11 girls which actually saw the biggest field of 22 finishers, Quinn Joyce Led from the start with Ella Larkin u9 in hot pursuit all the way, these two opened up a gap to Maisie McCurtin also under 9 with rest of the athletes battling it out for minor places, Larkin tried in vain to get on to Joyce’s toes but in the end being under 11 Joyce came home as the winner with a time of 6.31 putting her 5th fastest all time on the Mad Mile Leader board, Larkin came in as runner up with 6.36 putting her 8th on the leaderboard but fastest time by any under 9 in the 18 year history of the event. McCurtin made it in third place with 6.49 who ran second fastest time as under 9, Harriet Saunders just missed out u11 in 4th place with 6.51.

Race 2 saw 13 athletes line up in the u9/11 boys race, it was a 5 way battle till last 200m in a very tactical race that lead runner Oscar Larkin led from the gun, he clocked 6.05 putting him in 4th place in the overall all time leader board, second place went to Harry Smith u11 in 6.09 putting him in 6th on the leaderboard, then in was Malik Gaye 6.12, 4th place went to Elliot Bell 6.14 and Luke Stiles 6.16 who won the Most improved Miler award by running 1.14 mins faster than last year.

Race 3 incorporated under 13/15 race with the under 17 and above age groups, Eve Brown u17 led from the start to have to take a sprint finish to win the race in 5.43 which put her 3rd in the all time leader board, her rival came from Gemma Jones senior lady with 5.44 going 4th in the All Board, Alanna Smith did well to hang on to these two to take 3rd spot in 5.55, Amber Stiles u13  took the younger age group win in a time of 6.07, with Anna Hall u13 runners up spot 6.13 and Emerald Hill-Sawyer taking the 3rd place spot 6.13 same time as Hall.

Race 4  saw huge entry of u13/15 and under 17 and above of 26 entries, but only 16 turned up on the night, Ethan Kuijten u15 led the way in a fast 5.34 to win the younger age group, Aiden Fleming u13 taking runners up 6.00 and Aaron Carter u13  3rd place 6.06, The under 17 upwards was won by Jonjo Stiles v40 in 5.40 with Andy Collins v50 in a fast 5.48 and third place going to  Mitch Poustie 6.21.